ST. LOUIS (KMOV.com) -- People in Illinois will be able to buy recreational marijuana in starting January 1. The only dispensary in the St. Louis metro area is in Collinsville.
The Illinois Supply and Provisions medical supply store will open its doors at 7 a.m. Wednesday.
Here's what you need to know:
- When will the Collinsville dispensary open?
- January 1, 2020 – 7:00 a.m.- 9:00 p.m.
- Regular hours begin January 2: Monday-Saturday from 9:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m. and Sunday from 10:00 a.m.-9:00 p.m.
-What should I bring with me?
Anyone 21 years or older must have a valid government issued ID to purchase products. You can only purchase products if you're 21 or older.
- Can I make an appointment?
No appointments will be taken. Access to the dispensary will be on a first-come first-serve basis.
- How long should I expect to stay?
You should expect long lines for the first several days. Please dress accordingly for the weather.
- How can I pay?
Cash or debit card are acceptable payment methods. No checks or credit cards will be accepted.
- What should I do with product when I leave the dispensary?
If cannabis is in a vehicle, it must be “in a reasonably secured, sealed container and reasonably inaccessible while the vehicle is moving.” It's recommend people transport their cannabis products in the trunk of their vehicle, and keep it in the sealed container that it was purchased in.
- Where can I use my product?
Personal use of cannabis products are subject to local municipal ordinance. Check with your local municipality for rules regarding public cannabis consumption. It's illegal to bring marijuana purchased in Illinois over to St. Louis.
-Who can partake in the use of recreational cannabis?
Adults ages 21+. Individuals under 21 are not allowed to purchase, possess, use, process, transport, grow, or consume cannabis.
-What are the limits on how much cannabis or cannabis product someone can possess?
Possession for Illinois residents is limited to:
- 30 grams of raw cannabis
- No more than 500 mg of THC cannabis-infused product;
- 5 grams of concentrated cannabis product
Non-Illinois residents may possess:
- 15 grams of raw cannabis
- No more than 250 mg of THC in a cannabis infused product
- 2.5 grams of concentrated cannabis product
-Where can I purchase cannabis?
Only from an authorized and licensed dispensary. Private sales are illegal.
-Can I grow my own cannabis?
No. It is illegal to grow your own cannabis for recreational purposes.
-Where is the possession of cannabis prohibited?
- On a school bus or public transportation;
- On the grounds of any preschool or primary or secondary school;
- In any correctional facility;
- In a private residence that is used at any time to provide licensed child care or other similar social service care on the premises
-Where is the use of cannabis prohibited?
The use of cannabis is prohibited is all public places. A “public place” means any place where a person could reasonably be expected to be observed by others. The law also prohibits smoking in close physical proximity to anyone under 21 who is not a registered medical cannabis patient.
-Where can I use cannabis?
Cannabis can only be used in a private residence or in an "on premise" authorized dispensary. Cannabis cannot be used in close physical proximity to an individual under 21 years of age.
-Can I use cannabis on my front porch?
The language of the statute is unclear on this point. It should be noted, however, that some jurisdictions are interpreting the law differently and believe that using cannabis on front porches is prohibited. Future guidance from the legislature and/or the courts will be necessary to finally clarify the issue.
-Can you possess cannabis while in a motor vehicle?
Cannabis may be possessed within a vehicle by either the driver and/or passengers but only in a sealed, odor-proof, child-resistant container that is inaccessible while the vehicle is moving. Cannabis dispensaries must utilize these same containers.
-Can I be arrested for DUI for being under the influence of cannabis?
Yes, if you are impaired. If a driver has 5 nanograms of THC in the blood, there is a presumption of impairment.
-Can a police officer search me or my car if they smell cannabis?
Yes. Under Illinois law, the smell of cannabis is still probable cause to conduct a search.
-Can I use or possess cannabis in my private residence?
Yes, as long as the residence is not used as a daycare and/or you are not in the close proximity of someone under the age of 21.
The following exceptions should be noted:
- Cannabis is prohibited in federally funded public housing;
- Landlords can prohibit the use and possession of cannabis in rental properties; this is a landlord-tenant issue that may affect your lease. Consult with your landlord.
- Locations prohibited by the Smoke Free Illinois Act (hotels, restaurants, bars, etc.)
-Can I transport cannabis across state lines?
-Can my employer discipline or discharge me for using recreational cannabis?
Potentially. Consult with your employer about their work place rules regarding the use of cannabis.