Federal disaster area declared for parts of St. Louis region due to flooding

Published: Aug. 8, 2022 at 3:17 PM CDT|Updated: Aug. 8, 2022 at 9:01 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ST. LOUIS, Mo. (KMOV) - President Joe Biden has approved the request by Missouri Gov. Mike Parson to declare parts of the state hit hard by recent flooding a federal disaster area.

Parson’s office announced the request had been approved by Biden Monday afternoon and is specifically in response to the flooding that hit the St. Louis area on July 25-July 28. Members of Missouri’s Congressional delegation also made the request.

Biden’s declaration means that residents of St. Louis City, St. Louis County and St. Charles County are eligible for FEMA’s Public Assistance Program.

Residents of the city and the two affected counties can apply for FEMA assistance by clicking here or calling FEMA’s toll-free application line at 1-800-621-3362 from 6:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m. Central Time, seven days a week. Victims are encouraged to document losses, such as taking photos of flood damage and keeping receipts.

Here is how FEMA can provide help and more on how you can apply:

  • For needs not covered by insurance or other sources, FEMA can provide Individual Assistance grant money for:
  • Rental Assistance – if you need to relocate because of serious damage
  • Personal Property – that was damaged or destroyed by the flooding
  • Lodging Reimbursement – if you’ve had to stay in a hotel temporarily
  • Other serious needs caused by the recent flooding
  • In addition – for homeowners whose primary residence was damaged by flooding – FEMA grant money for basic home repairs may also be available
  • FEMA does not pay for lost food
  • Apply online at DisasterAssistance.gov
  • Call 800-621-3362
  • Use the FEMA App – Then Click “Apply for Individual Assistance”
  • Only one application per household

Those with unmet needs are still encouraged to contact the United Way by dialing 211 or clicking here.