NHL admits Avs' goal should've counted on coach's challenge - KMOV.com

NHL admits Avs' nullified goal should've counted against Blues

Posted: Updated:
AP Photo AP Photo

NEW YORK (AP) - The NHL has acknowledged video review incorrectly nullified a late-game goal by the Colorado Avalanche during a 4-3 loss to the St. Louis Blues.

In a statement released Friday, the league said it made a mistake by taking away Mikko Rantanen's goal late in the third period on a coach's challenge for offside. The review determined that Sven Andrighetto was offside, but on a previous entry into the zone, which is not supposed to subject to a challenge.

By rule, challenges can only be made on the entry into the offensive zone before a goal. Because of that, the league says "the goal should have counted."

If the goal had counted, the Avalanche and Blues would have been tied at 4-all at 17:26 of the third period and St. Louis would have been given a two-minute minor penalty.

This is the first time since coach's challenges were instituted before the 2015-16 season that the NHL has admitted a mistake was made on an offside review.

More AP NHL: https://apnews.com/tag/NHLhockey

Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly