St. Louis among 3 cities added to anti-violence program -

St. Louis among 3 cities added to anti-violence program

Posted: Updated:
(Credit: KMOV) (Credit: KMOV)

ST. LOUIS (AP) - St. Louis is one of three cities added to a federal program aimed at fighting violent crime.

The U.S. Attorney's office in St. Louis on Tuesday announced that St. Louis, New Orleans and Milwaukee have joined the U.S. Department of Justice Violence Reduction Network. Members of the network have greater access to programs within the Justice Department to try and stem violent crime.

The program began in 2014 in Camden, New Jersey, Chicago, Detroit, Wilmington, Delaware, and Oakland and Richmond, California. It was expanded in September to Compton, California, Flint, Michigan, Little Rock and West Memphis, Arkansas, and Newark, New Jersey.

Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Watch News 4 Now

Mouse over player for controls · LAUNCH FULL PLAYER

Powered by Frankly