Wong, Wainwright finalists for ROY and Cy Young - KMOV.com

Wong, Wainwright finalists for ROY and Cy Young

Posted: Updated:
By John Bailey By John Bailey

ST. LOUIS — With Yadier Molina and Adam Wainwright both nominated for Gold Gloves, the list of Cardinals potentially receiving end of season awards grew longer Tuesday. 

Kolten Wong was named a finalist for National League Rookie of the Year, joining the Mets’ Jacob DeGrom and Cincinnati’s Billy Hamilton. Wong, 24, played in 113 regular season games in 2014. Though he started slow, the former first-rounder finished with a .249 average complimented by 12 home runs and 20 stolen bases. 

Defensively Wong had a season typical of talented rookies, mixing eye-popping plays with absent-minded errors. Still, he flashed incredible range. He made 15 plays that were considered remote (10-40 percent chance of being made) according to Fangraphs. Despite 12 errors, he turned 70 double plays, tied for 14th.  

Though the voting takes place before the start of the postseason, Wong became a national name after an impressive October. He sluged .724 with three doubles, a triple, three homers and six RBIs in eight games, winning Game 2 of the NLCS with a walk-off homer.

The winner will be announced on November 10. 

Wainwright Cy Young nomination

Adam Wainwright was nominated for the NL Cy Young Award, making 2014 the fourth time he will finish in the top three in votes. 

The 33-year-old won 20 games for the second time in his career, leading the league in shutouts (3). Wainwright sported his best-ever ERA (2.38) and WHIP (1.031), but still may not have a shot at the award. 

The Cy Young will likely go to Clayton Kershaw, who led the league in wins, ERA, complete games, WHIP, strikeouts per nine innings and strikeout-to-walk ratio. Even with the injury-shortened season, the Dodger ace won 21 games and struck out 239 hitters, good for seventh among all pitchers. 

Johnny Cueto rounds out the ballot, leading the NL in games started (34), innings pitched (243.2), strikeouts (242), and hits per nine innings (6.2). Even with a 20-win season and the best stat line of his career, Cueto will probably come up short as well. 

The winner will be announced November 12.

Powered by Frankly