Molina, Wainwright and Miller all up for NL awards -

Molina, Wainwright and Miller all up for NL awards

Posted: Updated:
By John Bailey By John Bailey

(BaseballStL) – The Cardinals finished the season with a division title and an NL pennant, but they might have a few more awards to win.

The BBWAA award finalists are out, and the Cardinals have candidates in nearly every category.

Shelby Miller joins the Dodgers’ Yasiel Puig and the Marlins’ Jose Fernandez on NL the Rookie of the Year ballot. Miller posted 15 wins on the season, and despite virtual invisibility in the playoffs, he is the only candidate with a full MLB year under his belt.

Yaider Molina, who hit .319 this season with 80 RBIs is up for MVP along with Pittsburgh Pirate Andrew McCutchen and Arizona Diamondback Paul Goldschmidt. In addition to his offensive stats, which were the best of his career, Molina also brought home a sixth Gold Glove for his work behind the plate.

Adam Wainwright makes his third appearance as an NL CY Young finalist, after posting career bests in strikeouts and innings pitched. He led the league in complete games, starts, innings and tied for shutouts. He trailed only fellow nominee Clayton Kershaw and Cliff Lee in strikeouts in the National League, and tied for most wins with 19. He walked only 35 batters all year. Fernandez is also an outside contender for Cy Young.

The winners will be announced next week starting with Rookie of the Year on November 11. Manager of the Year, which is the only award the Cardinals did not have a finalist for, will be on November 12. Clint Hurdle, Don Mattingly and Fredi Gonzalez are up for that honor.

The Cy Young Award will be announced November 13 and the MVP Award will close the announcements on the November 14.

Powered by Frankly