Vaughn: Molina and Wainwright are golden -

Vaughn: Molina and Wainwright are golden

 (BaseballStL) -- Yadier Molina and Adam Wainwright were named Gold Glove winners in the National League. It’s the sixth time Molina has captured the award as the NL’s best defensive catcher and the second gold glove award for Wainwright as a pitcher. 

Molina and Wainwright are just the second battery in history to win the award twice, and the first to do it with the same team. Ivan Rodriguez and Kenny Rogers won Gold Glove awards with Texas in 2000 and again with Detroit in 2006. 

Winning his sixth Gold Glove moves Molina into a tie for fourth place in history among catchers. 

The Gold Glove awards use to be determined by a vote of Major League managers and coaches. This year the awards were decided with a collaborative effort between Rawlings and the Society for American Baseball Research. It’s the first time saber metrics were included as a component to determine baseball’s best defensive players.

Powered by Frankly