Secretary of Agriculture declares entire state of Illinois eligi -

Secretary of Agriculture declares entire state of Illinois eligible for drought relief

Posted: Updated:
By Justin Sullivan/Getty Images By Justin Sullivan/Getty Images

WASHINGTON, D.C. ( – U.S. Senator Dick Durbin today commended the Secretary of the Department of Agriculture, Tom Vilsack, for declaring the remaining Illinois counties and their surrounding areas eligible for emergency USDA assistance. 


Last month, Durbin joined Senator Mark Kirk (R-IL) and eighteen members of the Illinois Congressional Delegation in supporting Governor Pat Quinn’s request for the entire state to receive this designation.

“This designation will help Illinois farmers, families, and communities affected by the drought.  With agriculture the number one industry in Illinois in terms of economic impact, when farmers struggle, the entire state feels it,” said Durbin.  “I thank Secretary Vilsack for his prompt review of Governor Quinn’s request and stand ready to help efforts to minimize the impact of these damaging conditions.”

Under today’s announcement the following counties received USDA primary disaster designation:  Bureau, Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Henry, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Knox, Mercer, Putnam, Stark and Will.  And the following counties received USDA contiguous county designation: Boone, Ford, Fulton, Henderson, Iroquois, Lake, LaSalle, Lee, Livingston, McHenry, Marshall, Ogle, Peoria, Rock Island, Warren, Whiteside and Winnebago.

Powered by Frankly