Disaster relief available for Ill. counties - KMOV.com

Disaster relief available for Ill. counties

CHICAGO (AP) -- A federal agency is making low-interest disaster loans available for residents and businesses affected by severe storms earlier this year in southern Illinois.

The money for damage from the May 8 storm is from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

The agency declaration covers Jackson and Williamson counties and the adjacent counties of Franklin, Johnson, Perry, Pope, Randolph, Saline and Union in Illinois. It also applies to Perry County in Missouri.

Interest rates as low as 2.4 percent are available for homeowners and renters. And businesses can secure rates as low as 4 percent.

The filing deadline for applications related to physical property is Sept. 14 this year. The deadline to return economic-damage applications is April 16, 2010.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by Frankly