Obama declares 14 Illinois counties disaster areas - KMOV.com

Obama declares 14 Illinois counties disaster areas

WASHINGTON (AP) -- President Barack Obama has declared 14 counties in Illinois major disaster areas due to severe storms and flooding that occurred in April and May. 

The president's action Tuesday makes federal funding available to residents of Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hardin, Jackson, Lawrence, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, White and Williamson counties.  

Assistance made available to residents include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the storms.  

Federal Emergency Management Agency officials say additional areas could be designated disaster areas if warranted by damage assessments.  

Severe weather, including tornados and heavy rains, swept across central Illinois between April 19 and May 2, causing flooding along the Mississippi, Ohio and Wabash rivers.  

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by Frankly