8 More Illinois counties get federal disaster help - KMOV.com

8 More Illinois counties get federal disaster help

Posted: Updated:
By Sarah Heath By Sarah Heath
By Brendan Marks By Brendan Marks

COLLINSVILLE, Ill. (KMOV) Illinois counties who were still struggling from April's recording-breaking rainfall dealt with a a strong storm, including tornaodes, over the weekend.

On Sunday, the Illinois Department of Transportation announced the closures of Illinois 3 in Grafton, Calhoun County, and Illinois 100 from US 67 in Alton to Illinois 3 in Grafton.

Within the next 24 hours, the NWS River Forecasts indicate additional closures may be required. For the latest information on roadway closures throughout Illinois click here.

The Argosy Casino in Alton closed and anticipates being closed for five days.

The Department will continue monitoring State roadways in the Counties of Calhoun, Greene, Jersey, Madison, and Randolph throughout the upcoming week.

Eight more counties in Illinois will begin receiving federal disaster aid to help residents and businesses recover from the record flooding that hit many parts of the state in April.

The new counties approved for federal assistance are Brown, Calhoun, Clark, Douglas, Henry, Pike, Whiteside and Winnebago.

Gov. Pat Quinn made the announcement at the start of the weekend. It brings to 33 the number of counties approved for federal assistance, which includes grants for temporary housing, home repair and other expenses.

More than $68 million in federal aid has been approved for 24,000 individuals and households so   far. Nearly $2 million in low-interest loans has also been approved.

Quinn says the Obama administration's "quick action will help speed assistance to people ... and help them begin rebuilding their lives."

Powered by Frankly