Gov. Nixon announces members of Ferguson Commission -

Gov. Nixon announces members of Ferguson Commission

Posted: Updated:
Governor Jay Nixon announces members of the Ferguson Commission By Daniel Fredman Governor Jay Nixon announces members of the Ferguson Commission By Daniel Fredman

 ST. LOUIS ( – Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon swore in the members of the Ferguson Commission on Tuesday.

Last month, the governor announced plans to create an independent commission to study and make specific recommendations for how to make progress on the issues raised by events in Ferguson.

The governor’s office said they received 261 applications and nominations for the Ferguson Commission.

The commission will not have any interaction with the Ferguson Citizen’s Review Board, which was formed at the local level.

The members are:

Rev. Starsky Wilson (Co-chair) is president & CEO of Deaconess Foundation

Rich McClure (Co-chair) currently chairs the St. Louis Regional Board of Teach for America

Rev. Traci deVon Blackmon of Christ the King United Church of Christ in North County

Daniel Isom is the director of the Missouri Department of Public Safety

Scott Negwer has served as president of Ferguson-based Negwer Materials since 1995

Bethany A. Johnson-Javois is CEO of the St. Louis Integrated Health Network

Gabriel E. Gore is a partner with St. Louis-based law firm Dowd Bennett

Brittany N. Packnett is the daughter of educators and currently serves as executive director for Teach For America in St. Louis

Rose A. Windmiller is Assistant Vice Chancellor, Government & Community Relations at Washington University

Rasheen Aldridge, Jr. s a community organizer and activist. Born and raised in St. Louis, Aldridge is currently enrolled at Forest Park Community College. He serves as director of an organization called Young Activist United St. Louis and sits as student co-chair on the Missouri Jobs with Justice.

Grayling Tobias is a life-long resident of St. Louis and devoted educator who has served as the superintendent of the Hazelwood School District since 2012

Becky James-Hatter serves as president and chief executive officer of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri, serving St. Louis City, as well as St. Louis, St. Charles, Jefferson and Cape Girardeau counties

Felicia Pulliam joined the FOCUS team in January 2012 as development director

Sgt. Kevin Ahlbrand has 31 years of experience in law enforcement, and currently is a detective sergeant with the St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department and deputy commander of the Major Case Squad of Greater St. Louis.

Patrick Sly manages the Emerson Charitable Trust and the company’s community relations activities, a position he was appointed to in 2012

Truman Robert “T.R.” Carr is professor and former chair of the Department of Public Administration and Policy Analysis at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville and a Senior Research Fellow with the Institute for Urban Research at SIUE 

Powered by Frankly