Mizzou basketball announces 2012-13 schedule

Mizzou basketball announces 2012-13 schedule

Credit: AP

Missouri senior Kim English, center, addresses the crowd in front of his teammates after their 78-72 victory over Iowa State in an NCAA college basketball game Wednesday, Feb. 29, 2012, in Columbia, Mo. The game was the last time that English and seven other seniors on the team will play in Mizzou Arena. (AP Photo/L.G. Patterson)

Print
Email
|

by Justine Ward / KMOV.com

KMOV.com

Posted on August 29, 2012 at 2:25 PM

Missouri basketball released its 2012-13 non-conference schedule on Wednesday.

The Tigers will playing their first season in the Southeastern Conference, which includes 18 regular-season games as they look to make their fifth consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament.

The 2012-13 season highlights include the start of a home-and-home series with UCLA, the annual Busch Braggin’ Rights clash with Illinois in St. Louis and this year’s top preseason tournament, the Battle 4 Atlantis.

Missouri will have 19 home games in all beginning with exhibition games against Northwest Missouri state on October 29 and Missouri Southern on November 4. 

Mizzou will also have the opportunity to play a number of ranked opponents during non-conference play, including three games in the Bahamas over Thanksgiving at the Battle 4 Atlantis tournament.

Mizzou will face-off against pre-season Top 25 teams Stanford, Louisville, Duke Memphis, Minnesota, Northern Iowa and VCU in Nassau. 

Mizzou will conclude its non-conference play against defending Patriot League regular season champion Bucknell on Jan. 5.

As head coach Frank Haith stated in regards to this season’s schedule, ““When you look at the 18-game league schedule on top of that and of course our annual game with Illinois, I like how our team will be tested early and often this year. Something that was also important was playing in games and tournaments that create national exposure. With our league schedule we will have 18 games on national TV this season.”

Games not aired on network television will be aired on the Mizzou Sports Network, SEC Network, and ESPN3.com.  Complete television/time information for the Mizzou Sports Network will be released at a later date. The Mizzou Sports Network games are aired on Fox Sports Midwest in St. Louis, Metro Sports in Kansas City and KOMU in Mid-Missouri.

Here is the complete schedule:

Oct. 29 Monday Northwest Missouri State (Exh) Mizzou Arena TBA TBA

Nov. 4 Sunday Missouri Southern (Exh) Mizzou Arena TBA TBA

Nov. 10 Saturday Southern Illinois Edwardsville Mizzou Arena TBA TBA

Nov. 13 Tuesday Alcorn State ^ Mizzou Arena TBA TBA

Nov. 16 Friday Nicholls State Mizzou Arena TBA TBA

Battle 4 Atlantis (Nov. 22-24, Missouri, Duke, Louisville, Memphis Minnesota, Northern Iowa, Stanford, VCU)

Nov. 22 Thursday vs. Stanford $ Nassau, Bahamas Noon AXS TV

Nov. 23 Friday vs. Louisville / Northern Iowa $ Nassau, Bahamas TBA TBA

Nov. 24 Saturday Game #3 $ Nassau, Bahamas TBA TBA

Dec. 1 Saturday Appalachian State Mizzou Arena TBA TBA

Dec. 4 Tuesday Southeast Missouri State Mizzou Arena TBA TBA

Dec. 8 Saturday Tennessee State Mizzou Arena TBA TBA

Dec. 17 Monday South Carolina State Mizzou Arena TBA TBA

32nd Annual Busch Braggin’ Rights Game (Scottrade Center)

Dec. 22 Saturday vs. Illinois % St. Louis, Mo. TBA TBA

Dec. 28 Friday at UCLA Los Angeles, Calif. 9 p.m. ESPN2

Jan. 5 Saturday Bucknell Mizzou Arena TBA TBA

Jan. 8 Tuesday Alabama * Mizzou Arena 6 p.m. ESPN

Jan. 12 Saturday at Ole Miss * Oxford, Miss. 7 p.m. FSN

Jan. 16 Wednesday Georgia * Mizzou Arena 7 p.m. SEC Network

Jan. 19 Saturday at Florida * Gainesville, Fla. 1 p.m. ESPN

Jan. 22 Tuesday South Carolina * Mizzou Arena 6 p.m. ESPNU

Jan. 26 Saturday Vanderbilt * Mizzou Arena 4 p.m. ESPNU

Jan. 30 Wednesday at LSU * Baton Rouge, La. 7 p.m. SEC Network

Feb. 2 Saturday Auburn * Mizzou Arena 12:30 p.m. SEC Network

Feb. 7 Thursday at Texas A&M * College Station, Texas 8 p.m. ESPN/2

Feb. 9 Saturday Ole Miss * Mizzou Arena Noon CBS

Feb. 13 Wednesday at Mississippi State * Starkville, Miss. 7 p.m. SEC Network

Feb. 16 Saturday at Arkansas * Fayetteville, Ark. 3 p.m. ESPN/2

Feb. 19 Tuesday Florida * Mizzou Arena 8 p.m. ESPN

Feb. 23 Saturday & at Kentucky * Lexington, Ky. 8 p.m. ESPN (GameDay)

Feb. 28 Thursday at South Carolina * Columbia, S.C. 8 p.m. ESPN/2

March 2 Saturday LSU * Mizzou Arena 3 p.m. SEC Network

March 5 Tuesday Arkansas * Mizzou Arena 6 p.m. ESPN

March 9 Saturday at Tennessee * Knoxville, Tenn. 3 p.m. ESPN/2

^ Battle 4 Atlantis Exempt Game

$ Battle 4 Atlantis Tournament, Paradise Island, Bahamas (Atlantis Resort)

% Busch Braggin’ Rights Game, St. Louis, Mo.

* Southeastern Conference

All times listed as Central Time Zone

Mizzou Sports Network games (and game times) will be announced at a later date

Print
Email
|